Wifi issues on A13-OLINUXINO-WIFI board

Started by hoyle, June 23, 2013, 07:33:38 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

hoyle

I have just got myself a A13-OLINUXINO-WIFI board with 7inch touch screen. I'm new to working with this kit so have started out just seeing the basics of what it can do, i've put the android 800x480 image on the board and the touch screen it all works perfectly.

The problem im having now is working out an issue with the wifi im not sure if it is a hardware or software issue. the board connects for a while then disconnects then reconnects and so on.

Any help and advice would be much appreciated.

agustin_nrtk

I have the same problem and I think it's a hardware problem.
The WiFi module warms up!

jwischka

Are you running Android or Linux? FWIW, I experienced this behavior before disabling the power save and standby functionality in the kernel.

hoyle

agustin_nrtk glad im not the only one on the hard ware side of things i'm looking at possable cooling techniques will post when i work something out.

jwischka i'm running android, i'm looking into adjusting the kernel, any recomendations on best programs would be much apeciated

thanks for both your replies

JohnS

Are you sure it's not Android causing it?  It really does sound to be the cause.

John

hoyle

I think it is android causing the problem, im looking at differant ways to sort out the issue.

LubOlimex

Hey guys,

We've been hearing about this problem but strange enough this WIFI disconnects never happen over here (and we have a number of A13 boards connected almost always).

@agustin_nrtk - the warming is normal, considering the number of PCB layers and the dimensions

Best regards,
Lub/OLIMEX
Technical support and documentation manager at Olimex

hoyle