[solved] Need help picking the right device :)

Started by unicorn, June 19, 2019, 05:44:51 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

unicorn

Hello!

I am new to all of this SBC stuff, so before ordering something from halfway across Europe with fees, I would appreciate if someone can help me pick the right device :)

I am looking to build a little server for serving a static website (like https://solar.lowtechmagazine.com, also running on A20 OLinuXino) as well as hosting a personal cloud and/or collaborative text editor.

Since there are several options and accessories available, I wanted to ask about them:

1. What would be a usecase in which eMMC or NAND storage would be useful for me? What could I use it for?
2. Is there a qualitative difference between the regular and IND version that might make it worth choosing an IND model (e.g. for longer lifespan)?
3. I might want to do other projects requiring a WiFi connection, so which WiFi solution would work best in a wooden enclosure? I have heard that wood is pretty good at shielding :)
4. Is it worth getting a USB cable if I intend on driving the board using the 5V port and can use Ethernet?
5. Are there any other things you would recommend to get for other projects to save future delivery costs, such as connectors?

Thank you very much in advance!

Unicorn

LubOlimex

Hey,

For hosting purposes I'd recommend A20 boards because of the SATA option. If you have the space, A20-OLinuXino-MICRO is a good option. It is slightly bigger but the connectors are 0.1" step which makes it easier to interface. The other popular choice is A20-OLinuXino-LIME2 which is smaller. I can give you more details if you tell me which board exactly do you have in mind.

Answering some of the questions, starting from the most important points: