ESP32-EVB rev D: weird behavior with esp-idf ethernet example

Started by Casper, March 19, 2019, 10:50:36 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Casper

Hello,

I just started playing with the ESP32, more specifically, the ESP32-EVB revision D board from Olimex. The "get-started" examples from esp-idf worked fine. Then I moved on to the "ethernet" example. There I ran into problems. The device is unable to obtain an IP using DHCP (related posts on this topic exist). With a small change, which should not change a thing in my opinion, the example starts working. Kind of.

The only change made in order to get it kind of working is to put two printf statements towards the end of app_main() function as shown below:

if(ret == ESP_OK) {
esp_eth_enable();
printf("Ethernet initialized.");
printf("Starting eth_task.");
xTaskCreate(eth_task, "eth_task", 2048, NULL, (tskIDLE_PRIORITY + 2), NULL);
}

Note that if adding a new line sequence at the end of each of the printf strings, I'm back at example not working, i.e., device not being able to obtain an IP address. So this:

if(ret == ESP_OK) {
esp_eth_enable();
printf("Ethernet initialized.\n");
printf("Starting eth_task.\n");
xTaskCreate(eth_task, "eth_task", 2048, NULL, (tskIDLE_PRIORITY + 2), NULL);
}

breaks it again.

Three files I deem relevant to this issue can be fetched from here: https://we.tl/t-QpZrVJXPER. Files description:
(1) "sdkconfig": Example configuration.
(2) "Ethernet-example_fail_monitor-out.txt": make monitor output when running the example as is.
(3) "Ethernet-example_success_monitor-out.txt": make monitor output when making the mentioned change (described above).

Does anyone have any idea what could be the problem here?