MSP430 - questions from a beginner

Started by Physiologist, August 23, 2014, 05:21:32 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Physiologist

Hi, guys,

For a starter,  I must admit that I have no experience whatsoever with either MSP processors or with their programming. I do,  however, have extensive experience with design and use of precision amplifiers for very low signals - so,  I am not totally ignorant of electronics.  In addidtion to that,  the type of work I do (biomedical research) often makes me dive into the areas where I have very little (if any) expertise and get things done (usually, with kind help of other people).  So,  here I am asking for help with getting started in this new endeavor.  I am also asking of some level of tolerance to my questions,  many of which will probably sound stupid to you all. 

Now,  I am trying to set the MSP430-JTAG-ISO-MK2 to work with either the a Kickstart version of IAR Embedded Workbench for MSP430 6.10,  or with the Code Composer Studio 6.0.1 (whichever I will be able to make work faster for my purpose).  With that,  I will be trying to make use of the Mod-EKG board following fairly close the TI Application Bulletin #slaa280a (hopefully, with slightly modified C-code that this application refers to).

Thus far,  I've downloaded both IDE-s,  followed the instructions in the MSP430-JTAG-ISO-MK2 Manual to replace the MSP430.dll and olimex.dll in \IAR Systems\Embedded Workbench  x.x\430\bin and in C:\ti\ccsv6\ccs_base\DebugServer\drivers. I am looking throught the manuals for the CCS and for the IAR-EW - both overwhelming for a beginner like myself.  However, I am not sure yet if my installation was correct and if the IAR-EW or the CCS recognized the ISO-MK2...