Welcome, Guest

Author Topic: AVR-ISP-MK2  (Read 8412 times)

richros

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • Karma: +0/-0
AVR-ISP-MK2
« on: October 10, 2012, 06:40:58 PM »
I've been using my STK-500 board for ISP with a variety of ATMEL micro's for quite some time now.
I just now received the Olimex AVR-ISP-MK2 programmer and I can't get it to communicate with a
micro.  It appears to have the same 6-pin interface as the STK-500.  It seems to communicate with
AVRStudio6 via the USB connection, but always shows the target voltage as 3.3V regardless of the
jumper setting.  It cannot read the device at all.


LubOlimex

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1733
  • Karma: +43/-2
Re: AVR-ISP-MK2
« Reply #1 on: October 11, 2012, 08:16:19 AM »
Hello there,

Could you please test with AVR Studio 4 if it works properly? You can take it from here: http://www.atmel.com/tools/STUDIOARCHIVE.aspx. Remember that you have to download a toolchain and input the path to it if you want to compile code with the version 4.

Did you update the firmware following the manual or the FAQ section of the AVR-ISP-MK2 page? For Atmel studio 6 you might need to upgrade the firmware. It is important that you use the prebuilt binary for Atmel Studio (not the one for Avr-dude).

Best regards,
Lub/OLIMEX
Technical support and documentation manager at Olimex

jeroends

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 76
  • Karma: +2/-0
Re: AVR-ISP-MK2
« Reply #2 on: October 11, 2012, 08:03:03 PM »
I use the MK2 with studio 4 and studio 6. No need for a firmware upgrade.
Are u shure that the 6pin interface is compatible with the STK-500? I can only speak for the 10 pin interface to program the olimex devices.

richros

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: AVR-ISP-MK2
« Reply #3 on: October 11, 2012, 08:34:01 PM »
Hi LubOlimex;  I'm so glad to see your reply, thank you so much!  This is important to me as I'm organizing a
class in micro's and all the students want to program their own.......   I can't get the first one working!

I tried the AVR-ISP-MK2 in AVR Studio 4 with pretty much the same results.  On the first connect it'll show
HW Settings: "Getting VTARGET.. 3.3V .. OK" plus HW Info: "Getting revisions.. HW: 0x00, FW Major: 0x01, FW Minor: 0x11 .. OK"

On the second and subsequent connects it shows nothing.  Connecting to the STK500 and then reconnecting to the
AVR-ISP-MK2 it'll show the 3.3V, etc, but will not communicate with the Atmel device. (It's pretty much the
same results as with AVR Studio 6.)

richros

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: AVR-ISP-MK2
« Reply #4 on: October 11, 2012, 08:41:06 PM »
Hi jeroends;  I appreciate your willingness to help also.  Both the AVR-ISP-MK2 and the STK-500 show pins
#1-MISO, #3-SCK, #5-RST, #2-VCC, #4-MOSI, & #6-GND.  I'm using the "TPI" connection on the AVR-ISP-MK2 and
I'm trying to connect to an ATTiny 2313A.

richros

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: AVR-ISP-MK2
« Reply #5 on: October 11, 2012, 08:44:11 PM »
By the way, I've looked all over for the "FAQ section of the AVR-ISP-MK2 page" and could not
find it...

LubOlimex

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1733
  • Karma: +43/-2
Re: AVR-ISP-MK2
« Reply #6 on: October 12, 2012, 09:54:31 AM »
Hello again richros,

ATtiny2313A doesn't have TPI interface according to its datasheet: http://www.atmel.com/Images/8246S.pdf. Only ISP (ICSP) interface for programming.

If the board lacks 10-pin ISP connector you might make a converter cable from 10-pin to 6-pin.

The FAQ for upgrade may be found at this place of the product page: http://i.imgur.com/jNnam.jpg. Product page: https://www.olimex.com/Products/AVR/Programmers/AVR-ISP-MK2/

Best regards,
Lub/OLIMEX
Technical support and documentation manager at Olimex

richros

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: AVR-ISP-MK2
« Reply #7 on: October 12, 2012, 07:25:34 PM »
Hi once more LubOlimex and THANK YOU!

"This is the age of the half-read page".  First off, I didn't know them meaning of "TPI" and "PDI".
I read in the AVR-ISP-MK2 User Manual that the 6-pin PDI is used for programming AVR XMEGA and
the 6-pin TPI interface is used for programming tinyAVR. I guess I really didn't see the significance
of ICSP either and thought I knew it all......

It seems to be working as advertised now.

By the way, jeroends was on the right track too...

Thank you very much!

Rich