I Need A Development Environment Orientation

Started by rayhogan, January 11, 2013, 11:30:44 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

rayhogan

Hi Folks,

I'm a long term developer, but could use help getting started.

I've not done any Microcontroller development before and am not sure what components, software, ide's etc I need in order to begin using the     Mod-PIR-zigbee. I plan on using a series of them for Home automation. I think I currently have about 10 of them and plan on building a solar charger for keeping each of them up and running. I also plan on interfacing them to Mcontrol software (home automation software) and doing many different energy saving things with them like coding a smart thermostat, notifying when doors are left open, controlling my pools' pump to save energy etc.

Ideally a major step by step would be helpful...

I'm simulating what information posters would post, but this is the level of understanding I am seeking.

Also, typical things people will normally do when they get a device ... Perhaps most people reprogram it? I see some postings about the correct protocol stack to use, etc...

Another specific thing, is how to communicate with the Zigbee controller when it is on the MPD_PIR board? Do I go through another olimex product, do I use terminal software, etc, etc..

Basically, I need help in getting started.

Equipment needed
Board x allows programming of the onboard PIC
Interface Y lets you do such and such
You will need a compiler and an IDE, some of the most popular ones are ...
To program your PIC, you compile it then use XYZ to load it into the onboard memory
You upload it to the pic using ...

For debugging, you are best served by... Bla Bla.

Also,
any links to tutorials on using the IDE, development language or on PIC etc is helpful.

Finally, I like staying mainstream and with the most popular DIY solutions as to have a deeper knowledge base and materials to pull from.

Thanks in advance for any or all you can offer.

Ray