Welcome, Guest

Author Topic: Replac: lwIP TCP-IP Stack --> other stack possible ?  (Read 489 times)

Ruppie

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 11
  • Karma: +0/-0
Replac: lwIP TCP-IP Stack --> other stack possible ?
« on: January 21, 2018, 03:33:26 PM »
Hello,
i have found options inseide the "menuconfig" for adjust the lwip stack settings.

I wonder if i can use another stack than lwip in my application or if lwiP is a must within ESP-32 applikations ?

Does someone know if it is possible to use another stack or not ?

Tnaks in advance

Marc

JohnS

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1666
  • Karma: +33/-45
Re: Replac: lwIP TCP-IP Stack --> other stack possible ?
« Reply #1 on: January 21, 2018, 05:17:56 PM »
Which would you like to use?

(Then just read the code.)

John

Ruppie

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 11
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Replac: lwIP TCP-IP Stack --> other stack possible ?
« Reply #2 on: January 21, 2018, 08:01:08 PM »
I ould like to use:Cyclone TCP



JohnS

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1666
  • Karma: +33/-45
Re: Replac: lwIP TCP-IP Stack --> other stack possible ?
« Reply #3 on: January 21, 2018, 10:10:38 PM »
So sit down and look at the code.  It's why the source is vital.

John

Ruppie

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 11
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Replac: lwIP TCP-IP Stack --> other stack possible ?
« Reply #4 on: January 22, 2018, 08:12:26 AM »
Dear John,
maybe you never read questions carefully.
Maybe the question was not clear enough for you.

Again:
I ask myself, why there are settings in the the ESP menuconfig that looks so lwIP specific ?
See menuconfig -->component config -->Lwip
I think it is not possible to use other stacks, or can i just ignore the lwip settings in the system settings ?

Marc


 

JohnS

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1666
  • Karma: +33/-45
Re: Replac: lwIP TCP-IP Stack --> other stack possible ?
« Reply #5 on: January 22, 2018, 10:48:42 AM »
Someone chose that stack and made it work that way.  They probably had no wish to do more work.

If someone (such as you) wants a different stack it's up to them.

If the stack you want is written to be a drop in replacement for the very well known LwIP then it ought to be easy - but quite likely they didn't do that and then it would be possible but a lot of work.

I guess very few would be interested so probably either you do the work or pay someone (not me!) to do it.

John

Ruppie

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 11
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Replac: lwIP TCP-IP Stack --> other stack possible ?
« Reply #6 on: January 22, 2018, 07:18:47 PM »
Hello John;
thank you for the background informations.

At least, when i have fisished my tests i will decide if the ESP-32 is a usefull plattform for my needs or not.
Most important information is , that is not such easy to use another stack, as known from others empedded plattforms.

Greating Marc.

 

LubOlimex

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1713
  • Karma: +43/-2
Re: Replac: lwIP TCP-IP Stack --> other stack possible ?
« Reply #7 on: January 23, 2018, 09:16:37 AM »
It seems that Cyclone TCP lists ESP32 as supported: https://www.oryx-embedded.com/cyclone_tcp.html

Maybe a better idea would be to contact Cyclone about how to use Cyclone TCP with ESP32 chip/products.

Best regards,
Lub/OLIMEX
Technical support and documentation manager at Olimex