A10-Lime shuts down when connecting 40-40-10 cable

Started by a10lime, January 30, 2015, 08:33:10 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

a10lime

Hi,

I am a A10-Lime newbie. Currently trying to connect the 10TS LCD display to my A10-Lime and cannot get it to work. I changed the change_display.sh. But every time I connect the 40-40-10 cable to the A10 it shuts down.
All LEDs on the board go dark and the area around the power supply becomes hot.

It also happens when the display is not connected on the other side of the cable. And it also happens when I connect the cable to the GPIO ports.

What could that be, is the cable corrupted?

Thanks for your help.

dave-at-axon

It sounds like there is a short if it does it with just the cable. Don't use it until you have checked it out.

Get a multi-meter and check each pin for short to each other. ie, 1 to 2, 2 to 3, 3 to 4 etc etc.

a10lime

Thank you for the quick advice!! I just checked the cable and you were right, there is a short in almost half of the cable. It looked perfect from the outside though.

Now I am scared that I broke the display. Is there a way to test it without connecting it to the board? I connected an external 5V power supply, but no signs of life...

Thanks again.

dave-at-axon

No, it will need the signals to work. They are not the same as PC monitor.

You can easily make your own cable if you happen to be able to get the cable and connectors from a suitable electronics supplier. Without knowing where you live is hard to suggest who from.

Is the existing cable from Olimex? I would send it back for a replacement if the cost is not high to do so.

In fact, if the cable was their failure, you could get all parts replaced if they too turn out to be faulty because of it.

a10lime