Welcome, Guest

Author Topic: What's It Like For You When Getting a 4.3 LCD to Work?  (Read 2530 times)

ar

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 12
  • Karma: +0/-0
What's It Like For You When Getting a 4.3 LCD to Work?
« on: August 11, 2014, 07:36:34 PM »
I get nothing displayed, no backlight on mine. have done /root/change...... lcd script.
xorg is running at the correct resolution. (that command I used was "DISPLAY=:0 xrandx")
I'm using the current debain image.

does it just work for you is there something else I need to do.

wondering if I have fried it maybe...
« Last Edit: August 11, 2014, 07:39:21 PM by ar »

MBR

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 256
  • Karma: +19/-0
Re: What's It Like For You When Getting a 4.3 LCD to Work?
« Reply #1 on: August 21, 2014, 10:55:21 AM »
You must enable LCD and backlight by PWM (not necessary) via writting into files in /sys. I'm not sure which GPIO does control LCD on A10, but these are command to bring on LCD on my A13. The first three lines enable the LCD, the last two sets PWM for the backlight.


echo 3 > /sys/class/gpio/export
echo out > /sys/class/gpio/gpio3_pb10/direction
echo 1 > /sys/class/gpio/gpio3_pb10/value

echo 10khz > /sys/class/pwm-sunxi/pwm0/period
echo 100 > /sys/class/pwm-sunxi/pwm0/duty_percent

pharscape

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: What's It Like For You When Getting a 4.3 LCD to Work?
« Reply #2 on: August 24, 2014, 06:55:49 PM »
HDMI is the default for the Debian image. To enable the LCD you need to run the change_display_a10_lime.sh script.

If you ran the script correctly then the HDMI port will stop workng.

Run it as root, you will find it in the /root directory.

Cheers,
Paul

ar

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 12
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: What's It Like For You When Getting a 4.3 LCD to Work?
« Reply #3 on: September 05, 2014, 03:39:34 PM »
thanks, found out what my problem was with a bit of help with someone on irc. the number indicating pin 1 on the board and lcd/adapter don't match up. So it was the embarrassing thing of the cable was the wrong way round :-[ .
http://www.aross.me/forumposts/correct_olimex_lime_board_lcd_connection/

Chax

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 25
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: What's It Like For You When Getting a 4.3 LCD to Work?
« Reply #4 on: September 09, 2014, 08:04:43 PM »
I must admit I made the same mistake ;). I now have a 'plug in board' that you click on top of the Olimex board and on top of the plug in board there is a standard 0.254mm connector.