March 28, 2024, 01:41:01 PM

Olimex STM32-H407 PWM support

Started by mgulin, June 23, 2014, 03:55:00 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

mgulin

Hello everyone!
I'm having a little troubles working with an Olimex STM32-H407 development board (with STM32F407ZG inside). I've found example projects for IAR on Olimex pages, but we're rather using gcc (i.e. WinARM toolchain with OpenOCD) since we don't have a license for IAR.
My question is: can you please provide me with some basic .s (startup) and .ld (linker definitions) files that I can use to compile some basic C program for this particular Olimex board, e.g.:

int a=1,b=2,c;
int main() {
  while(1){
    c=a+b;
  }
}

I'm complete beginner in this matter. Can you recommend me some literature/tutorials on how to compose .s and .ld files for a generic microcontroller?

Best regards,
Marko.

JohnS

There are samples & tutorials if you google things like
STM32F4 gcc

John

LubOlimex

Hello mgulin,

You can check our OpenOCD package which has a simple blink example for the H407. Download link and information might be found here: https://www.olimex.com/Products/ARM/JTAG/_resources/OpenOCD/.

Unfortunately, it is hard to provide full support for the ever changing open source tools. Something more the initial attempts to configure an IDE properly might be very tough for a beginner. Make sure to find and follow a good guide on how to do it.

Best regards,
Lub/OLIMEX
Technical support and documentation manager at Olimex

mgulin

Thank you for your help!
I managed to start up the board using a blinking LED example for gcc. For those who are interested, here you can find detailed tutorial how to do it: http://www.angstromsandalgorithms.com/free-eclipse-arm-gcc-openocd-toolchain-for-windows-part-1-introduction/