Newbie wonder if an Olinuxino board would be good for him ?

Started by hary, March 23, 2014, 03:17:18 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

hary

Hi everyone.

I wanted to learn about microcontroler so I've been playing with Arduino board till now. I'm still new at it, but bit by bit I'm learning.

I also want to understand more my computer, and so, I'm trying to use Linux instead Windows.

I think an olinuxino board could do the connection between my goal of learning Linux and at the same time working with my arduino board.

But I read on forum that people who would work on olinuxino and linux woudn't be beginner !

Of course, I've read some topic, but most of them are hardly comprehensible for me at the moment. I can't feel trough these diferent forum if I could  find help in case of a desperate situation.
With my Arduino board, I found good advice on forum. But from the beginning, I could understand some small bit about it. That's not really the case about Olinusino !

Maybe, I'd like to find some basic exercices first, making the Olinuxino board working by copying the SD card, then, going further by making/preparing the SD card myself, further then making it from scrach. Always to get more knowledge and understanding.

Do you think, it would be a good idea to start with ?

What do you think and what would be your advice ?

Many thanks.

ajeandet

Hello hary,

From what I understand, there are different things you want to learn.

• Linux "administration"
  • Embedded development
  • C programming for both Linux and bare metal?
Depending on how much you are comfortable with this topics it could be quite difficult to start with it.
For linux administration an x86 computer with a good distribution is the best.
For Embedded development OlinuXino boards are very good.
For bare metal programming a board with a cortex-M3/4 (For examlpe:  https://www.olimex.com/Products/ARM/ST/STM32-P405) would be better.

Best regards,
Alexis.

hary

Thanks for the reply ajeandet.