ssVEP - Occipital lobe measurement

Started by rafaelduarte, January 09, 2014, 08:23:28 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

rafaelduarte

Hi everyone,

I am using the EEG-SMT a passive electrode (DRL) and 4 active electrodes to measure the EEG signal on the occipital lobe with a 10 Hz strobe light as a stimulus. I placed the CH1 electrodes at Oz and Fz position and held the DRL tightly in my hand. The CH2 electrodes are placed at F7 and F8 to measure eye movements. I was hoping to see an increase in power at around 10 Hz when the strobe light is on but that is not happening.

Has someone done the same experiment and got good results?? I would really appreciate any help, specially regarding the electrodes positioning. I have tried this both with and without conductive gel.

ps. I am just a beginner in this area with almost no experience.

Cheers,
Rafael

ekinox777

Hello Rafael,

I didn't do such an experiment but I can explain why you don't see the expected results:

Perhaps you made the following assumption: the center of seeing is in occipital area, I pump 10Hz visual stimulation so I must see it in EEG signal. The visual center is processing images continuously and when it does you usually are in Beta state. There is no reason for the visual cortex to start to pulsate with 10 Hz frequency.

On the other hand some other cortical centers, responsible for the interpretation of what is seen, may start to synchronize with the stimulation frequency. But only if you focus your attention on the stimulus. And the synchronization takes some time, several minutes at least.

What you have to do is to study more areas and give enough time for the stimulus to "irradiate" from .
Even this approach will not guarantee success, because it is known from the studies with brain-machines that using the same stimulation repeatedly after several sessions the brain gets used to it and doesn't respond anymore. The solution is to change the stimulation frequencies periodically.