Welcome, Guest

Author Topic: Using PIC32-MX460LCD with PIC-KIT3  (Read 2082 times)

momchils

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
  • Karma: +0/-0
Using PIC32-MX460LCD with PIC-KIT3
« on: August 19, 2013, 03:00:15 PM »
Hello,
I'd like to use the kit PIC32-MX460LCD with PIC-KIT3 and MPLAB X. In the documentation I saw that only PIC-ICD2, PICICD2-TINY and PIC-ICD2-POCKET are mentioned. Does that means that I cannot use PIC-KIT3?


LubOlimex

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1949
  • Karma: +50/-3
Re: Using PIC32-MX460LCD with PIC-KIT3
« Reply #1 on: August 29, 2013, 02:30:07 PM »
Hey momchils,

Of course, you can use PIC-KIT3. Even more - it is recommended to use PIC-KIT3 instead of PIC-ICD2 designs.

The documentation is ancient. I will add it to my TODO list to update it.

Best regards,
Lub/OLIMEX
Technical support and documentation manager at Olimex

momchils

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Using PIC32-MX460LCD with PIC-KIT3
« Reply #2 on: August 30, 2013, 12:34:43 AM »
And what about the Demo code. It seems that it uses older revision of Microchip Graphics Library and when I try to replace it with the latest one (from June 2013) lots of problems appear?
Has anyone use that?

LubOlimex

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1949
  • Karma: +50/-3
Re: Using PIC32-MX460LCD with PIC-KIT3
« Reply #3 on: September 04, 2013, 01:03:13 PM »
Hey momchils,

Most of the time replacing a Microchip library with newer or older one (without modifying it) brings a lot of errors. This is due to the fact that they change names and syntax. Whole functions are re-written. Furthermore, sometimes the original generic libraries released by Microchip get modified by Olimex for our specific hardware.

Best regards,
Lub/OLIMEX
Technical support and documentation manager at Olimex