Olimex Support Forum

Microcontrollers => MSP430 => Topic started by: mrfluff on September 17, 2015, 09:08:55 pm

Title: MSP430-JTAG-TINY-V2 and Rowley CrossStudio - does anything work?
Post by: mrfluff on September 17, 2015, 09:08:55 pm
Hi,

Has anybody got the MSP430-JTAG-TINY-V2 talking to anything (but specifically an MSP430-P2618 prototype board) in Rowley's CrossStudio v2 or v3? If they have can they share the secret please?

Cheers,
Matt
Title: Re: MSP430-JTAG-TINY-V2 and Rowley CrossStudio - does anything work?
Post by: LubOlimex on September 18, 2015, 10:01:06 am
Hey mrfluff,

All versions of Rowley Crossworks for MSP430 should work with MSP430-JTAG-TINY-V2.

I just downloaded and tested CrossStudio for MPS430 version 3.0.0 and it seems to connect fine with MSP430-JTAG-TINY-V2. My hardware setup included a MSP430-JTAG-TINY-V2 and our development board MSP430-P2274 that has MSP430F2274. I edited the built-in configuration called "MSP-FET430UIF(V2)" since our debuggers use TI protocol V2, anyway. I also tested adding a new target DLL interface and it also works fine as long as you follow the recommendation in the next paragraph.

I also tested with Rowley Crossworks for MSP430 version 2.2.0. It also works, albeit consider the note about the dll loading below.

Note that I encountered a problem initially (Can't load DLL) - it seemed like the IDE couldn't find the olimex.dll file. I had some difficulties pointing to the dll file in the interface! It seemed like it doesn't point properly, especially if you try to copy-paste the location of the file or if you write it down. I finally had to use the "browse" button to navigate and point to the olimex.dll (if there is no "browse" button - delete everything in the "Target Driver DLL Path" field and the "browse" button would appear). Refer to picture below:

(http://i.imgur.com/gqPG4IN.jpg)

For my successful connection refer to the screenshot:

(http://i.imgur.com/HNGQW2q.jpg)

I wasn't able to test whether programming and debugging works fine, however, since I don't have a license for Rowley's products.

It might be a good idea to report this problem to Rowley - I believe there is a bug in that GUI box and the code behind it.

Best regards,
Lub/OLIMEX