[Project] E-Book Reader with A13-OLinuXino-MICRO and QT Framework

Started by lordlothar, January 09, 2013, 06:02:12 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

lordlothar

Hello people!

I am a student at University of Patras,Greece and I am currently working on my diploma thesis for my Electrical and Computer Engineering diploma. The subject of my thesis is the one on the thread title. I have opened this thread to present you my progress, so that I may be able to help and be helped by others with similar projects and to exchange further knowledge.

I am a newbie with Linux, so I am taking small steps at the moment. Of course any help is welcomed!

My plan is:

• Getting A13 to boot correctly till root/password.
  • Find a suitable LCD touchscreen which fits A13 and make it work.
  • Develop an alpha version QT pdf viewer app on PC and cross-compile it for A13.
  • Find a suitable battery for A13.
  • Find an ADC in order to measure battery charge and display it on LCD.
  • (optional) Enable WiFi on A13 via external usb adapter, in order to download e-books from internet.
  • Put all parts together to end up with a final, working product.

Till now, I have not made a lot of progress. My aim is to complete the project by next summer (July 2013 actually).

So, here we go:
I have been able to complete step (1) with one pre-built microSD shipped from Olimex, but after I tried to dd the A13-MICRO Debian image from the wiki on the same microSD card (because it got corrupted), it hangs on 'Starting Kernel...'. I suspect it's due to a faulty microSD to usb adapter of mine, cause I have tried a lot - and I really mean A LOT of things... :P- to make it work, but with no success. I even built everything from zero - u-boot, kernel, modules as described in the wiki - but nothing worked. I will but tomorrow a new adapter and inform you about the results.