Beginning A20 OLinuXino MICRO, Linux and Android for Dummies

Started by TeamKings, January 10, 2016, 01:00:39 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

TeamKings

I really hate to do this. I've looked and read for hours on this site and others, and keep going in circles. I need help to get started here.

I am new to the forum, and new to the A20 and new to Linux and new to Android. I have been studying and working with electronics for around 48 years. I have done hundreds of programs in Basic and C for various Windows, PIC, Atmel, Basic Stamp.

Following the instructions

"How To Build Android 4.2.2 for A20-OLinuXino-MICRO from scratch" located at
https://olimex.wordpress.com/2014/01/30/how-to-build-android-4-2-2-for-a20-olinuxino-micro-from-scratch/

I managed to get my i7 PC loaded with Ubuntu 14.04, then installed the Java jdk-6u45-linux-i586.bin (after Googling how to get the "Command Line" - called "Terminal" in Linux, by following the instructions at
http://source.android.com/source/initializing.html
To establish a build environment.
At the bottom of that page, it says "Next: Download the source" with a link to follow.

First question: Do I continue following the Android instructions here at

http://source.android.com/source/downloading.html

Or per Dave at Axom's webpage
https://axonjakarta.wordpress.com/2014/02/14/olimex-a20-android-building-4/
go to
http://dl.linux-sunxi.org/users/tsvetan/ANDROID-4.2.2-SDK2.0-KERNEL-3.4/

Or go back to the Olimex instructions
How To Build Android 4.2.2 for A20-OLinuXino-MICRO from scratch
Which then says to
"Then Build the kernel, kernel modules and u-boot
   cd lichee
   ./build.sh -psun7i_android"

Second question: What is a "lichee" in this context other than a Chinese berry? Seriously, I can see it is a "folder" but where does it come from?