ModBUS over RS485

Started by jpacha, May 14, 2013, 02:57:54 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

jpacha

Hi everybody!
I'm new in this and I'm really excited with the possibilities of the A13-Olinuxino (and waiting for dual-core version ...   :P )
I'm developing a project in which I need to communicate with ModBUS slave devices, requesting data, and I have a A13-Olinuxino & MOD-RS485-ISO
The idea is sending a socket via 485 to the device and capture the socket with its response... Can anybody give me a rough guideline with esential steps for doing it?
I was googling for it, I have nt find clear instructions ... and I'm getting stuck with it!
Thank you in advance!

jeroends

have a look at libmodbus (http://libmodbus.org/). This will probably help you a lot further.
Libmodbus includes the needed libs to communicate with modbus devices over rs485 and ethernet. There are also a few examples included in the package and copiles without any problems on the a13 (and imx233). The only thing which you can bump into is that the installer doesn't place the libs in the right place. (have a look at http://leachy.homeip.net/olinuxino/install_dev.html)

BJFreeman

Fulltimer since 89

jpacha

Thanks for your support... I'm working with the approach of the library libmodbus

:P First question: what's the default device for the MOD-RS485ISO? Maybe ttyS0?

BJFreeman

I2C the example in the link will explain

the other solution is to use the connector uart1 and porvide your own RS485 adapter
Fulltimer since 89

jpacha

Quote from: BJFreeman on May 15, 2013, 04:19:00 PM
I2C the example in the link will explain

the other solution is to use the connector uart1 and porvide your own RS485 adapter

I've tried with I2C without success. I've used a simplified version of the i2c code, and it throws the error "-1 of 14 bytes sended  Failed to send data: Communication error on send"

int main(int argc, char **argv)
{
int fd;
unsigned char buffer[14],buffer1[14];

buffer[0] = 0x00;
buffer[1] = 0x09;