A20-SOM-EVB or A20-OLinuXino-MICRO? And some general recommendations

Started by mafm, June 01, 2014, 05:06:03 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

mafm

Hi all,

I am new to this and a bit confused about all the options.

I have 2 or 3 different main use cases that I could use this for, and I don't know which of the products A20-SOM-EVB or A20-OLinuXino-MICRO is more suitable for them (or the future Rockchip, but well, basically EVB vs. OLinuXino versions):

1) General small computer/server for home, to use as media center, back ups or sharing files in the LAN, and compiling/porting software.  This would be using Debian, disks and external screen.

2) Semi-portable computer, similar to a tablet, to use for example when travelling or in the car (e.g. to look maps when needed, for which GPS is almost mandatory).  I realise that both might be a bit fragile for this use case, lacking boxes and somewhere to attach LCD screens in fixed frames, but well, just thinking about the possibility.  This would be using either Android or Debian (but I don't know if there's a good GUI if not using Android).

3) Router-like device

On a quick glance, it is not very clear to me what would be the pros and cons of A20-SOM-EVB vs. A20-OLinuXino-MICRO for case 1.  For example, EVB seems to have VGA output without needing an extra conversion cable, and gigabit ethernet, and on the whole more similar to traditional computers and thus more suitable for staying at home and doing normal computer tasks.  But I don't know if by choosing the EVB I am missing some options compared to the OLinuXino.

I guess that for case 2, EVB is less versatile; and that for 3 it's more or less the same as 1 but probably something less powerful than A20 would do, and would need mostly extra ethernet ports or WiFi but no need for displays or disks.