Have a device idea.. but don't know what I needed to complete this

Started by mrfssd, March 10, 2013, 12:23:15 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

mrfssd

Ok. I am new to this and deciding rather to go with the a13 board for my project.

The idea is create a more or less a locked down pda with android for our warehouse use.

We will be using this as a walkie, voice, text and video chat (all via wifi and not cellular), also email, sending picture within internal network and etc. 

So the hardware requirement is of course headphone/headset jack, mic, speaker, front and back camera, battery, battery charging, keypad (like those used in blackberry), touchscreen, usb (for other usb.. just in case)

The size of the unit should be no bigger than the samsung note 2 (could be thicker, just not wider or taller).  I don't think a13 board fit that dimension, but anyone have suggestion?

Because our place is 24 hours operation, if there is a way to do dual battery with warning led or something like that to remind user to change battery, so it will keep the unit running at all time.. it will be great.

Anyone have any idea what parts I needed.

jwischka

It sounds like what you want is a Galaxy Note II.

I don't think you're going to find any hardware that you can cobble together off the shelf that's going to give you that functionality in those dimensions.

Quote from: mrfssd on March 10, 2013, 12:23:15 PM
Ok. I am new to this and deciding rather to go with the a13 board for my project.

The idea is create a more or less a locked down pda with android for our warehouse use.

We will be using this as a walkie, voice, text and video chat (all via wifi and not cellular), also email, sending picture within internal network and etc. 

So the hardware requirement is of course headphone/headset jack, mic, speaker, front and back camera, battery, battery charging, keypad (like those used in blackberry), touchscreen, usb (for other usb.. just in case)