Olimex Support Forum

OLinuXino Android / Linux boards and System On Modules => A13 => Topic started by: ellecieffe on February 10, 2013, 01:31:33 PM

Title: problem with wifi connection
Post by: ellecieffe on February 10, 2013, 01:31:33 PM
Hello to all.
I have a A13 Olinuxino WiFi, booted with original 2GB Debian image and wired to the laptop trough USB-serial cable (with Putty on Ubuntu 12.04)

I'm trying to follow this guide to install Debian with graphical interface but I have some problems to establish a wifi connection.http://olimex.wordpress.com/2012/11/23/running-debian-with-xfce4-on-a13-olinuxino/

I have created a wireless network with ubuntu ...then on Putty I have typed:

ifconfig -a

indeed (like in the guide)
wlan1 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 48:02:2a:eb:21:1c
    inet addr:192.168.0.229 Bcast:192.168.0.255 Mask:255.255.255.0
    UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
    RX packets:166 errors:0 dropped:726 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:7 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
    RX bytes:31361 (30.6 KiB) TX bytes:1248 (1.2 KiB)


I have found
   
  wlan2     Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 48:02:2a:c5:f2:58
          BROADCAST MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
          RX bytes:0 (0.0 B)  TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)


However I tried to follow the guide and I've typed

vi /etc/network/interfaces

and then I edited like as follows

auto lo
iface lo inet loopback

auto eth1
iface eth1 inet dhcp

#auto wlan1
iface wlan1 inet dhcp

#auto wlan2
iface wlan2 inet dhcp

wpa-ssid **ssidname**
wpa-psk  **password**

#wpa-ssid OlimexAP
#wpa-psk Yourwifipassword
#    wpa-driver wext
#    wpa-ssid yourssidhere
#    wpa-key-mgmt WPA-PSK
#    wpa-psk encodedpskhere


I have rebooted and check again my connection with ifconfig -a but I have found again

wlan2     Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 48:02:2a:c5:f2:58
          BROADCAST MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
          RX bytes:0 (0.0 B)  TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)


Where is the problem??
Thanks

Title: Re: problem with wifi connection
Post by: ellecieffe on February 10, 2013, 01:41:37 PM
extra: at the beginning I typed
auto wlan2
iface wlan2 inet dhcp

wpa-ssid **ssidname**
wpa-psk  **password**

without #

So,when I rebooted it didn't found the connection,i think, and had entered  in a loop...  so I had to go edit again trough vi /etc/network/interfaces, modify that line (with the problem of check the line continuosly covered by the lines of boot) and reboot..wifi chip had become very hot !!
(Sorry for the non-technical language)
Title: Re: problem with wifi connection
Post by: jwischka on February 10, 2013, 04:22:21 PM
Quote from: ellecieffe on February 10, 2013, 01:41:37 PM
extra: at the beginning I typed
auto wlan2
iface wlan2 inet dhcp

wpa-ssid **ssidname**
wpa-psk  **password**

without #

So,when I rebooted it didn't found the connection,i think, and had entered  in a loop...  so I had to go edit again trough vi /etc/network/interfaces, modify that line (with the problem of check the line continuosly covered by the lines of boot) and reboot..wifi chip had become very hot !!
(Sorry for the non-technical language)

Put it all together:


auto wlan2
iface wlan2 inet dhcp
wpa-ssid **ssidname**
wpa-psk  **password**


Also make sure you have the wpasupplicant package installed, which isn't by default. Or flash my image, and just modify the /etc/network/interfaces file with your information.
Title: Re: problem with wifi connection
Post by: ellecieffe on February 10, 2013, 05:16:07 PM
hi jwischka, thanks for the reply!

I modified the code by removing the white space ( I will look the result at the next reboot). [ I used the more user friendly editor nano, instead of vi ]

The wpasupplicant package should to be installed on debian, on Ubuntu or on both ?

Unfortunately I haven't a microSD card reader,so I can't flash your image.
I'll do it just I can
Title: Re: problem with wifi connection
Post by: ellecieffe on February 10, 2013, 06:01:42 PM
I have rebooted from the SD card but didn't work again,so I had to add # at the line one more time :'( . However I've discovered that the same "loop" is generated if I type
ifup wlan2
Title: Re: problem with wifi connection
Post by: jwischka on February 10, 2013, 08:24:20 PM
Quote from: ellecieffe on February 10, 2013, 06:01:42 PM
I have rebooted from the SD card but didn't work again,so I had to add # at the line one more time :'( . However I've discovered that the same "loop" is generated if I type
ifup wlan2

wpasupplicant needs to be installed on the card that you're putting in the board. Try removing security on your router and seeing if you can connect then.

Do you actually have two wireless adapters installed? I would remove the second one, if not.
Title: Re: problem with wifi connection
Post by: ellecieffe on February 12, 2013, 05:32:29 AM
I tried to follow this guide(in italian),http://guide.debianizzati.org/index.php/Configurazione_di_una_connessione_wireless (http://guide.debianizzati.org/index.php/Configurazione_di_una_connessione_wireless)   :
root@debian:~# apt-get install wpasupplicant wireless-tools
Reading package lists... Done
Building dependency tree
Reading state information... Done
wireless-tools is already the newest version.
wpasupplicant is already the newest version .
0 upgraded, 0 newly installed, 0 to remove and 129 not upgraded.

and
root@debian:~# iwlist scan
lo        Interface doesn't suppDriverStopped=1
[  321.060000] bDriverStopped=1
ort scanning.

tunl0     Interface doesn't support scanning.

wlan2     No scan results

note   " Interface doesn't suppDriverStopped=1
[  321.060000] bDriverStopped=1

ort scanning."  ???
btw at the point "Rete Wireless protetta con WPA" we have:
network={
   ssid="olinuxino"
    psk=cc989812bc2cd489f960d8c1b2428d98d3c5555dac62d70ff691762fb4cc418a
   key_mgmt=WPA-EAP WPA-PSK
   proto=RSN WPA
   pairwise=CCMP TKIP
}

note that I have used wpa_passphrase and I've used WPA2-Personal (are key_mgmt,proto and pairwise ok?)
then Ihaven't used
pre-up wpa_supplicant -iwlan0 -c /etc/wpa_supplicant.conf -B
but I've changed /etc/network/interfaces like this:
auto lo
iface lo inet loopback

auto eth1
iface eth1 inet dhcp


#auto wlan1
iface wlan1 inet dhcp

#auto wlan2
iface wlan2 inet dhcp
wpa-ssid olinuxino
wpa-psk cc989812bc2cd489f960d8c1b2428d98d3c5555dac62d70ff691762fb4cc418a

#wpa-ssid OlimexAP
#wpa-psk Yourwifipassword
#    wpa-driver wext
#    wpa-ssid yourssidhere

but
root@debian:~# iwconfig wlan2
wlan2     unassociated  Nickname:"<WIFI@REALTEK>"
          Mode:Auto  Frequency=2.412 GHz  Access Point: Not-Associated
          Sensitivity:0/0
          Retry:off   RTS thr:off   Fragment thr:off
          Encryption key:off
          Power Management:off
          Link Quality=0/100  Signal level=0 dBm  Noise level=0 dBm
          Rx invalid nwid:0  Rx invalid crypt:0  Rx invalid frag:0
          Tx excessive retries:0  Invalid misc:0   Missed beacon:0


If I try to type ifup wlan2 begins a cycle like this:

rfpwrstate_check call ips_leave....
[  926.740000]
[  926.740000]  rfpwrstate_check call ips_leave....
==>ips_leave cnts:20
[  926.740000] ==>ips_leave cnts:20
===>  rtw_ips_pwr_up..............
[  926.750000] ===>  rtw_ips_pwr_up..............
===> ips_netdrv_open.........
[  926.760000] ===> ips_netdrv_open.........
===> FirmwareDownload91C() fw:Rtl819XFwImageArray_UMC_B
[  926.770000]  ===> FirmwareDownload91C() fw:Rtl819XFwImageArray_UMC_B
FirmwareDownload92C accquire FW from embedded image
[  926.780000] FirmwareDownload92C accquire FW from embedded image
fw_ver=v79, fw_subver=0, sig=0x88c0
[  926.790000] fw_ver=v79, fw_subver=0, sig=0x88c0
fw download ok!
[  926.840000] fw download ok!
Set RF Chip ID to RF_6052 and RF type to 1T1R.
[  926.840000] Set RF Chip ID to RF_6052 and RF type to 1T1R.
IQK:Start!!!
[  927.270000] IQK:Start!!!
Path A IQK Success!!
[  927.290000] Path A IQK Success!!
Path A IQK Success!!
[  927.300000] Path A IQK Success!!
IQK: final_candidate is 0
[  927.310000] IQK: final_candidate is 0
IQK: RegE94=fe RegE9C=8 RegEA4=fb RegEAC=4 RegEB4=0 RegEBC=0 RegEC4=0 RegECC=0
[  927.320000] IQK: RegE94=fe RegE9C=8 RegEA4=fb RegEAC=4 RegEB4=0 RegEBC=0 RegEC4=0 RegECC=0
[  927.320000]  Path A IQ Calibration Success !
Path A IQ Calibration Success !
pdmpriv->TxPowerTrackControl = 1
[  927.460000] pdmpriv->TxPowerTrackControl = 1
MAC Address from REG_MACID = 48:02:2a:c5:f2:58
[  927.470000] MAC Address from REG_MACID = 48:02:2a:c5:f2:58
rtl8192cu_hal_init in 710ms
[  927.480000] rtl8192cu_hal_init in 710ms
<===  rtw_ips_pwr_up.............. in 740ms
[  927.490000] <===  rtw_ips_pwr_up.............. in 740ms
==> ips_leave.....LED(0x00028080)...
[  927.500000] ==> ips_leave.....LED(0x00028080)...
survey done event(0)
[  928.810000] survey done event(0)
==>pwr_state_check_handler .fw_state(8)
[  929.490000] ==>pwr_state_check_handler .fw_state(8)
==> rtw_ps_cmd  , enqueue CMD
[  929.490000] ==> rtw_ps_cmd  , enqueue CMD
==>rtw_ps_processor .fw_state(8)
[  929.500000] ==>rtw_ps_processor .fw_state(8)
==>ips_enter cnts:21
[  929.510000] ==>ips_enter cnts:21
==>power_saving_ctrl_wk_hdl change rf to OFF...LED(0x00028000)....

[  929.510000] ==>power_saving_ctrl_wk_hdl change rf to OFF...LED(0x00028000)....
[  929.510000]
===> rtw_ips_pwr_down...................
[  929.520000] ===> rtw_ips_pwr_down...................
====> rtw_ips_dev_unload...
[  929.530000] ====> rtw_ips_dev_unload...
usb_read_port_cancel
[  929.560000] usb_read_port_cancel
usb_write_port_cancel
[  929.570000] usb_write_port_cancel
==> rtl8192cu_hal_deinit
[  929.570000] ==> rtl8192cu_hal_deinit
bkeepfwalive(0)
[  929.580000] bkeepfwalive(0)
card disble without HWSM...........
[  929.580000] card disble without HWSM...........
<=== rtw_ips_pwr_down..................... in 80ms
[  929.600000] <=== rtw_ips_pwr_down..................... in 80ms


and I have to reset

AARRGHHH  >:(

help please :'(
Title: Re: problem with wifi connection
Post by: ellecieffe on February 12, 2013, 02:37:37 PM
Maybe I've figured out the  problem. I'm trying to use my acertravelmate 6592 as an access point but apparently the Intel Wireless WiFi Link 4965AGN is not suitable.
however,can I  still make an ad hoc network?
Title: Re: problem with wifi connection
Post by: iso9660 on February 12, 2013, 03:46:00 PM
Are you sure you have the required firmware wifi card file installed in /lib/firmware folder? Depending on the wifi card you use it might need a firmware.
http://git.kernel.org/?p=linux/kernel/git/dwmw2/linux-firmware.git;a=tree
Title: Re: problem with wifi connection
Post by: ellecieffe on February 12, 2013, 04:58:21 PM
I've found this documentation http://wireless.kernel.org/en/users/Drivers/iwlegacy
.... so I can't use my acer in AP mode but only in IBSS (Ad-Hoc) mode .
Can you suggest me a Guide to do this,please ?
Title: Re: problem with wifi connection
Post by: iso9660 on February 12, 2013, 05:42:51 PM
http://wiki.debian.org/WiFi/HowToUse
Title: Re: problem with wifi connection
Post by: ellecieffe on February 14, 2013, 08:15:38 PM
Hi guys...
Like you can see in the previous posts , I can't use my acer in AP mode but only in IBSS (Ad-Hoc) mode .

I've get a 8GB microSD and I've flashed the jwhischka image,R15....so, how I can configure the connection?
(I use USB to TTL Serial Cable to connect olinuxino to my PC,where I've installed PuTTY)

Thank to all
Title: Re: problem with wifi connection
Post by: JohnS on February 14, 2013, 09:20:48 PM
If the info above is no good and google also isn't then probably buy an AP.

John
Title: Re: problem with wifi connection
Post by: jwischka on February 14, 2013, 10:52:34 PM
Quote from: ellecieffe on February 14, 2013, 08:15:38 PM
Hi guys...
Like you can see in the previous posts , I can't use my acer in AP mode but only in IBSS (Ad-Hoc) mode .

I've get a 8GB microSD and I've flashed the jwhischka image,R15....so, how I can configure the connection?
(I use USB to TTL Serial Cable to connect olinuxino to my PC,where I've installed PuTTY)

Thank to all

Have you edited /etc/network/interfaces in the image again? I assume you're trying to connect with the built-in wireless adapter on the A13-WIFI to an actual router? Or are you trying to connect it to your laptop?

If it's the second, I would echo what John said and just buy a real AP/router to use - they're cheap, and it will save you a lot of configuration headaches.
Title: Re: problem with wifi connection
Post by: ellecieffe on February 15, 2013, 12:25:13 AM
I was trying to connect olinuxino with my laptop...ok, I will buy a router !!
thanks! good night all :)
Title: Re: problem with wifi connection
Post by: JohnS on February 15, 2013, 02:11:08 AM
Lots of ISPs provide wifi routers free but otherwise they're very cheap on ebay.
Title: Re: problem with wifi connection
Post by: ellecieffe on February 15, 2013, 02:38:30 PM
Hello, guys.
I ordered this router, hoping that it was a good investment: D http://cgi.ebay.it/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=230928674888
While waiting for his arrival, I would still insist a little bit and try to connect my olinuxino with my laptop with an ad hoc connection.
I followed this guide and everything seems ok.http://wiki.debian.org/WiFi/AdHoc
However, when try to ping I get an error (host unreachable)
Also, if I understand it, to use VNC both devices must be connected to the internet, right?
So you can not connect to the olinuxino desktop from the laptop , only with a USB ti ttl serial cable F? You can only connect to the terminal via Putty?
I'm a hard head,be lenient:D
Title: Re: problem with wifi connection
Post by: jwischka on February 15, 2013, 04:54:41 PM
Do you get an IP address on the board when you are connected in adhoc? You can connect to VNC if both computers are connected and on the same subnet - they don't have to be both connected to the internet per-se, but do need to be on the same network. If you can't ping one from the other, though, there is likely a problem.

The first thing I would try to check is if you can ping the A13 from the laptop. You can find the ip address of the board in ifconfig. If that doesn't work, then you likely aren't connected.

Quote from: ellecieffe on February 15, 2013, 02:38:30 PM
Hello, guys.
I ordered this router, hoping that it was a good investment: D http://cgi.ebay.it/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=230928674888
While waiting for his arrival, I would still insist a little bit and try to connect my olinuxino with my laptop with an ad hoc connection.
I followed this guide and everything seems ok.http://wiki.debian.org/WiFi/AdHoc
However, when try to ping I get an error (host unreachable)
Also, if I understand it, to use VNC both devices must be connected to the internet, right?
So you can not connect to the olinuxino desktop from the laptop , only with a USB ti ttl serial cable F? You can only connect to the terminal via Putty?
I'm a hard head,be lenient:D
Title: Re: problem with wifi connection
Post by: ellecieffe on February 15, 2013, 07:07:31 PM
On my lapotop I created with Network Manager the follow network:

(http://i50.tinypic.com/2evu3x3.png)


On my olinuxino (jwischka's image R17) I've typed
sudo iconfig -a
and..
lo        Link encap:Local Loopback
          inet addr:127.0.0.1  Mask:255.0.0.0
          UP LOOPBACK RUNNING  MTU:16436  Metric:1
          RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
          RX bytes:0 (0.0 B)  TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)

tunl0     Link encap:IPIP Tunnel  HWaddr
          NOARP  MTU:1480  Metric:1
          RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
          RX bytes:0 (0.0 B)  TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)

wlan1     Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 48:02:2a:c5:f2:58
          BROADCAST MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
          RX bytes:0 (0.0 B)  TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)


then

sudo vim /etc/network/interfaces


I've edited
     

# interfaces(5) file used by ifup(8) and ifdown(8)
auto lo
iface lo inet loopback


auto wlan1
iface wlan1 inet static
    address 10.42.0.2
    netmask 255.255.255.0
    wireless-channel 1
    wireless-essid olinuxino
    wireless-mode ad-hoc


then...


olinuxino@ubuntu:~$ sudo ifup wlan1
[sudo] password for olinuxino:
ssh stop/waiting
ssh start/running, process 1004


olinuxino@ubuntu:~$ sudo ifconfig
[sudo] password for olinuxino:
lo        Link encap:Local Loopback
          inet addr:127.0.0.1  Mask:255.0.0.0
          UP LOOPBACK RUNNING  MTU:16436  Metric:1
          RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
          RX bytes:0 (0.0 B)  TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)

wlan1     Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 48:02:2a:c5:f2:58
          inet addr:10.42.0.2  Bcast:10.42.0.255  Mask:255.255.255.0
          UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:2627 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
          RX bytes:0 (0.0 B)  TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)



if I type:

olinuxino@ubuntu:~$ iwlist wlan1  scan


I get


wlan1     Scan completed :
          Cell 01 - Address: 5A:18:66:5A:5E:88
                    ESSID:"olinuxino"
                    Protocol:IEEE 802.11bg
                    Mode:Ad-Hoc
                    Frequency:2.412 GHz (Channel 1)
                    Encryption key:off
                    Bit Rates:54 Mb/s
                    Quality=100/100  Signal level=100/100




I ping by my laptop and..

luighi@luighi:~$ ping 10.42.0.2
PING 10.42.0.2 (10.42.0.2) 56(84) bytes of data.
64 bytes from 10.42.0.2: icmp_req=1 ttl=64 time=4.33 ms
64 bytes from 10.42.0.2: icmp_req=2 ttl=64 time=2.33 ms
64 bytes from 10.42.0.2: icmp_req=3 ttl=64 time=1.93 ms
64 bytes from 10.42.0.2: icmp_req=4 ttl=64 time=2.40 ms
64 bytes from 10.42.0.2: icmp_req=5 ttl=64 time=1.98 ms
64 bytes from 10.42.0.2: icmp_req=6 ttl=64 time=2.00 ms
64 bytes from 10.42.0.2: icmp_req=7 ttl=64 time=1.87 ms
                     ...
                     ...
                     ...
64 bytes from 10.42.0.2: icmp_req=350 ttl=64 time=1.03 ms
64 bytes from 10.42.0.2: icmp_req=351 ttl=64 time=1.07 ms
64 bytes from 10.42.0.2: icmp_req=352 ttl=64 time=0.878 ms
64 bytes from 10.42.0.2: icmp_req=353 ttl=64 time=0.746 ms
64 bytes from 10.42.0.2: icmp_req=354 ttl=64 time=1.03 ms
64 bytes from 10.42.0.2: icmp_req=355 ttl=64 time=1.32 ms
64 bytes from 10.42.0.2: icmp_req=356 ttl=64 time=1.45 ms
64 bytes from 10.42.0.2: icmp_req=357 ttl=64 time=1.61 ms
64 bytes from 10.42.0.2: icmp_req=358 ttl=64 time=1.12 ms
64 bytes from 10.42.0.2: icmp_req=359 ttl=64 time=1.15 ms
64 bytes from 10.42.0.2: icmp_req=360 ttl=64 time=1.38 ms
64 bytes from 10.42.0.2: icmp_req=361 ttl=64 time=1.14 ms
64 bytes from 10.42.0.2: icmp_req=362 ttl=64 time=1.30 ms
64 bytes from 10.42.0.2: icmp_req=363 ttl=64 time=1.81 ms
64 bytes from 10.42.0.2: icmp_req=364 ttl=64 time=1.14 ms
64 bytes from 10.42.0.2: icmp_req=365 ttl=64 time=1.32 ms
64 bytes from 10.42.0.2: icmp_req=366 ttl=64 time=0.782 ms
^C
--- 10.42.0.2 ping statistics ---
366 packets transmitted, 365 received, 0% packet loss, time 365386ms
rtt min/avg/max/mdev = 0.725/1.187/9.224/0.582 ms


Is it ok?
[it is normal that the wireless chip is so hot?]
Title: Re: problem with wifi connection
Post by: ellecieffe on February 15, 2013, 07:46:46 PM
even the ping from olinuxino the laptop is ok .. (I find that with ctrl + C stop the ping  ::))


What do I do now?
Title: Re: problem with wifi connection
Post by: ellecieffe on February 15, 2013, 08:25:08 PM
 ;D ;D ;D ;D

Heeey guys...I was able to connect to the olinuxino desktop via VNC!
I've downloaded TightVNC, I 've unzipped and, following the readme, I've typed
sudo java-jar / blablalba/tvnjviewer-2.6.2-bin/tightvnc-jviewer.jar
(http://i48.tinypic.com/1cho9.png)
I've pressed on connect and...
(http://i46.tinypic.com/55v6x.png)
I've entered the password "password" (as it is written in the post jwischka)
and voila:
(http://i48.tinypic.com/b6em1v.png)

Now remains the problem of the internet connection ...
What am I left to do?
Title: Re: problem with wifi connection
Post by: jwischka on February 15, 2013, 09:14:35 PM
Quote from: ellecieffe on February 15, 2013, 08:25:08 PM
;D ;D ;D ;D

Heeey guys...I was able to connect to the olinuxino desktop via VNC!
I've downloaded TightVNC, I 've unzipped and, following the readme, I've typed
sudo java-jar / blablalba/tvnjviewer-2.6.2-bin/tightvnc-jviewer.jar

Now remains the problem of the internet connection ...
What am I left to do?

You have to manually your route table to add a gateway on your board to route traffic through the 10.42.0.1 gateway. Then you need to configure your computer to both a) forward IP traffic, if it isn't already, and b) bridge the wireless and wired interfaces, and then set up appropriate routes, metrics, etc. It can all be done, but frankly you're going to need a short course in routing to get it set up properly - which is why I suggested you buy a router which has things more or less pre-configured. You'll also likely run into firewall issues on the computer potentially not allowing traffic through.

In short, if you don't have a fairly good understanding of how to use route and iptables, it's going to be really, really not trivial to do what you're wanting.
Title: Re: problem with wifi connection
Post by: ellecieffe on February 16, 2013, 12:10:49 AM
I get it. many thanks jwischka .. Waiting for the arrival of router I will have fun with VNC ... Best regards and thanks for the advices :)
Title: Re: problem with wifi connection
Post by: ellecieffe on February 16, 2013, 01:29:24 AM
Hi guys..here we are again  :P

I m now in a place where is enabled a  wifi network,so I've decided to try the AP mode connection..

So:
-I've changed /etc/network/interfaces with SSID and key of WIFi network
-I've bring up the wlan and now I have a inet address like 131.144.etc.etc
-to access the web I need to login (user/PW) , so I need something like w3m,right?
Is there something like that in Jwischka's image?
Title: Re: problem with wifi connection
Post by: jwischka on February 16, 2013, 05:41:59 AM
Quote from: ellecieffe on February 16, 2013, 01:29:24 AM
Hi guys..here we are again  :P

I m now in a place where is enabled a  wifi network,so I've decided to try the AP mode connection..

So:
-I've changed /etc/network/interfaces with SSID and key of WIFi network
-I've bring up the wlan and now I have a inet address like 131.144.etc.etc
-to access the web I need to login (user/PW) , so I need something like w3m,right?
Is there something like that in Jwischka's image?

Depends on how the local network is set up. A lot of public hotspots won't let you ping other hosts (in other words, you couldn't ping the A13 from your laptop, even if you were both connected to the same AP, for security reasons). If that's the case, things might be rough.

If you can connect, VNC in and open a web-browser. If not, yes, something like lynx would probably be your next try. Unfortunately, it's not installed on my image, so you'll have to get it on there doing a chroot, probably.
Title: Re: problem with wifi connection
Post by: ellecieffe on February 16, 2013, 12:49:35 PM
Dear jwischka
I'm writing to you from olinuxino!! ;D
I was able to connect via ethernet (with adapter) the board and and via VNC,in ad hoc wifi,with my laptop. So I was able to log in with firefox
Now I will have to install lynx ,right?
Title: Re: problem with wifi connection
Post by: jwischka on February 16, 2013, 03:49:25 PM
Quote from: ellecieffe on February 16, 2013, 12:49:35 PM
Dear jwischka
I'm writing to you from olinuxino!! ;D
I was able to connect via ethernet (with adapter) the board and and via VNC,in ad hoc wifi,with my laptop. So I was able to log in with firefox
Now I will have to install lynx ,right?

You can, yeah. At a console:

sudo apt-get install lynx

Title: Re: problem with wifi connection
Post by: ellecieffe on February 17, 2013, 07:37:40 PM
Hi jwischka,good sunday
I have installed Lynx but when I launch it by terminal I get
Looking up lynx.isc.org and then


Alert!: Unable to connect to remote host.

lynx: Can't access startfile http://lynx.isc.org/


Maybe I could try with w3m or other?

Another question: my /etc/network/interfaces is
# interfaces(5) file used by ifup(8) and ifdown(8)
auto lo
iface lo inet loopback

#auto eth0
iface eth0 inet dhcp

#codice per la connessione ad hoc all'Acer TravelMate
#auto wlan1
#iface wlan1 inet static
#    address 10.42.0.2
#    netmask 255.255.255.0
#    wireless-channel 1
#    wireless-essid olinuxino
#    wireless-mode ad-hoc



#codice per la connessione ad un AccessPoint,in questo caso SerraUnipi
auto wlan1
iface wlan1 inet dhcp
wireless-essid SerraUnipi
wireless-mode managed
wpa-driver wext
wpa-conf /etc/wpa_supplicant.conf



Can I put both blocks relating to wlan1 without #, so as to be able to connect with the network SerraUnipi or olinuxino only when there are?
Do I need to create an "if" structure, perhaps?
Thanks
Title: Re: problem with wifi connection
Post by: ellecieffe on February 17, 2013, 08:00:39 PM
Ok the first question is solved... I've rebooted again and it works. I can surf the web via Lynx but, how you said, I can't connect with VNC because of the set up of the local network (I think). So, I will have to wait the arrival of router,or connect with ethernet to the olinuxino and with ad hoc wifi with my laptop.
QuoteDepends on how the local network is set up. A lot of public hotspots won't let you ping other hosts (in other words, you couldn't ping the A13 from your laptop, even if you were both connected to the same AP, for security reasons). If that's the case, things might be rough.

Remains the second, how can I make more "automatic" the connection?  (if I can)
Title: Re: problem with wifi connection
Post by: jwischka on February 18, 2013, 08:49:45 PM
Quote from: ellecieffe on February 17, 2013, 08:00:39 PM
Ok the first question is solved... I've rebooted again and it works. I can surf the web via Lynx but, how you said, I can't connect with VNC because of the set up of the local network (I think). So, I will have to wait the arrival of router,or connect with ethernet to the olinuxino and with ad hoc wifi with my laptop.
QuoteDepends on how the local network is set up. A lot of public hotspots won't let you ping other hosts (in other words, you couldn't ping the A13 from your laptop, even if you were both connected to the same AP, for security reasons). If that's the case, things might be rough.

Remains the second, how can I make more "automatic" the connection?  (if I can)

No - you can't have them both in the file. If you want to do something like that, you should remove them entirely from the file and use wicd (installed in VNC, or you could do it using x tunneling over SSH) to set up the connections. It offers quite a bit more in the way of automatically connecting when various connections are present.