Newbie Here - Welcome

Started by bensewell, February 07, 2013, 12:05:54 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

bensewell

Hi everyone.  I've got myself an A13 with Wifi and have big plans for it.

As its got Android on it I'm planning on installing it into my car and running a ODB2 reader to the screen.

So this box of tricks will power android as a media box.
Hopefully a GPS sat nav - what kind of GPS do I need?
View some web cams, one in the engine bay, one in the rear bumper as a reversing camera

I already have a flip out DVD player with touch screen but dont know how to adapt this to the A13 so will probably hook this up to a USB trackpad mouse hidden in the centre console.

So what do you think?

Is it do-able?

bensewell

Question.  How do I wire the A13 up to a power switch?  Theres the in built one on the board but I want to rig it up to a on / off button OR wire it up to turn on when my car ignition is turned on?

drspastic

depends if you want it to boot each time you start the engine, or go to standby when not in use. really for the power it takes you could just leave it on the battery without worry about drain, then you could access it remote via vnc on your cellphone while its parked so it acts as alarm, view cam of who is breaking in, gps of where it is, and even remote start like KIT in knight rider. dont forget the red led scanner in the grille!
if you run android, there are some good free apps that monitor camera and email you photos when zones are disturbed. i run motion detector on my cellphone to see if someone steals from me while i leave my stuff unattended. alarming and tracking your car are one thing, but getting a face shot of the thief so you can batter him later is so much more satisfying.

jwischka

Quote from: bensewell on February 07, 2013, 11:31:05 PM