Newbie here, need help on making these boards

Started by MS, February 20, 2014, 05:19:24 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

MS

Hello everyone

I recently discovered OLinuXino, and I am very excited about it. I have decided to make a board for myself, but as I am not an expert in these issues, I have two naive questions:
First, I cannot find iMX233, A10, A20 or A13 in my country's market  :(
Is it possible to use other alternatives instead of them?
Second, is there a well-written tutorial on how to make one of these boards?

Many thanks in advance for your help
M

MS

Thanks kathikis. However my main question is if I can use other types of ARM micro controllers instead of those mentioned to build this, since I cannot find them in market here.

dave-at-axon

Hi MS,

Firstly, do you have experience of high speed PCB design? Have you worked with multi-layer before? If you have, then good, you should be able to do this.

If not, then have a look at the open source Eagle files for the Olimex A20 and check out the PCB connections for the SDRAM. :) They are designed with high speed PCB techniques so you will see nice squiggly lines.

You should be able to build a board based on any Cortex A7/8 processor you can find in your market, but the issue is getting the firmware for it as the stuff on here is Allwinner based and won't run out of the box on other processors. Each manufacturer has their own proprietary drivers that you will need to get.

Which country are you located in? Could you not import the boards from Olimex or even the processors they sell? Which processors can you get in your local market?

MS

Thank you very much dave-at-axon for your response

I do not have experience of high speed PCB design. You are right, these design are too complicated! I was hoping to make minimum changes in these designs and get it build.