Configuration for outdoor time display?

Started by bsrdjan, February 15, 2013, 08:46:02 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

bsrdjan

I need to install 7 inch or bigger display outside of the building (outdoor), to display the time, therefore the industrial temperature range is required.

The information on current time shall come from Olimex A13, installed in the building, approx. 10 meters away from the display.

I am thinking about Olimex LCD 7" display, which has industrial temperature range, but the connector can't be 10 m long, also not sure if the display is good for the daylight?

Another alternative could be industrial LCD monitor for outdoor but I have no experience with such equipment, is probably very expensive?

I would appreciate to hear experience from similar projects & thoughts how to solve the problem.

BTW, I found out there is no Olimex with video output available with industrial temp. range.

jwischka

Quote from: bsrdjan on February 15, 2013, 08:46:02 PM
I need to install 7 inch or bigger display outside of the building (outdoor), to display the time, therefore the industrial temperature range is required.

The information on current time shall come from Olimex A13, installed in the building, approx. 10 meters away from the display.

I am thinking about Olimex LCD 7" display, which has industrial temperature range, but the connector can't be 10 m long, also not sure if the display is good for the daylight?

Another alternative could be industrial LCD monitor for outdoor but I have no experience with such equipment, is probably very expensive?

I would appreciate to hear experience from similar projects & thoughts how to solve the problem.

BTW, I found out there is no Olimex with video output available with industrial temp. range.