A13 NAND with Read Only Partition, Running Debian?

Started by cspurr, July 08, 2013, 11:20:14 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

cspurr

My goal is to utilize the A13 Olinuxino as a potential product platform. But for this I need it to be as reliable as an embedded device can be when placed in the field with only remote access via some network connection. So, I would like to run the OS from the NAND and be as close as possible to 100% reliable when it comes to file system corruption due to inadvertent power loss.
So, I would like to run a version of Debian but configure the distro to hopefully utilize a read only partition for the most critical part of the file system, and come up with something for the writable/configurable portions of my application, maybe two additional partitions to house a primary and backup of configuration/application nonvolatile data.
I am new to Linux especially as an Embedded solution and have spent weeks reading everything I can find on the subject, installing Debian as dual boot on my laptop to have a working test environment. I am not new to embedded real time development and hardware, spending my whole career so far developing real time embedded solutions mostly in static memory environments with simple safe run-to-completion rate monotonic scheduling schemes. 
My current application ideas do not require hard real time deadlines to be met, but would like the use of all the abundant open source features already developed for Linux. So, no need to reinvent the wheel.
I have read one thread on here talking about building everything you need to run Debian from the NAND, and using already built file systems. Building U-Boot and Script.bin file, etc. I have not ready to much about customizing these processes to get to where I want to be with this open hardware board.
I am not even sure LiveSuite can be used to do what I am hoping to do.